Weekend Shakedown: Shower Under the Stars & Frozen Hot Chocolate

26 Aug

How was your weekend? Here in Chattanooga it was pretty sunny, lovely and easy going. The hubs is home again, singing away with his guitar in the corner of our tiny living room, so you know, life is good when I’ve got my love tucked away nice and safe. Tomorrow will bring with it a week of fast-paced big city living. I’ll be flying high on my way to New York in the morning; the hubs will be in Knoxville and I’ll somehow grab a fist full of strength tucked down below all my vulnerability. Either that or you’ll find me wailing away in the middle of a street in New York (cue the scene from Bridesmaids with Maya Rudolph pooping in her beautiful white gown).

So there are a few things I got hooked on this weekend. Let’s start with the most important:

1. I MUST one day have an outdoor shower, nothing expensive and high-end, just one of those cheap-o stand-up boxes that almost every family in Florida boasts. When I was a kid visiting family in Inlet Beach, my favorite part of a trip to the beach was running my little white booty right on back to their shower behind the garage, where I would pull sand spurs out of my toes and do the shower dance right outside under the bright yellow sun. Found this inspiring link via Cup of Jo, which proves that if New Yorkers are doing it, I can certainly create a little private oasis right here in Tennessee with no problem at all. The challenge is on, NY.

And check out this colorful compilation of outdoor shower beauties by tsj Photography!

2. When don’t you need a dose of chocolate? Chattanooga is delivering in the form of the Southside’s Hot Chocolatier. It’s got an urban chic design with a slight industrial vibe going on, but of most importance is the frozen hot chocolate and white chocolate confections that will have you standing in awe in front of their glass display case trying desperately to make a final chocolate decision.

Just look at all those truffle flavors!

It’s getting hot in here…

So we grabbed some iced treats! SO yummy.

And tried to stick spoons on our noses. It didn’t work by the way. It never does. ;(

But don’t you love that wooden table with with that glossy shellac layered on?!

Post spoon-fail, I just bought more goodies to make me feel better. ;)

3. We went for a relaxing stroll around the Southside neighborhood. We love to explore this industrial-chic area with sleek looking condo designs and some creative green architecture features. Given how cool and hipster this place is, I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised to come across a makeshift shared neighborhood library. These are all the rage lately, and I just can’t get enough of these little community jewels. Check it…

That’s the Weekend Shakedown for ‘ya. Did you come across any discoveries this weekend – a hot new restaurant or baby pygmy hippo you just can’t wait to share? Maybe I should lower the expectations?

Happy Weekend!

6 Responses to “Weekend Shakedown: Shower Under the Stars & Frozen Hot Chocolate”

  1. Boomdeeadda August 26, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    Love that community library idea. Leave a book,take a book? Will you want to learn to play guitar as well? I used to know, set it down about 5 years ago and well, I should really pick it up again. You’re a cute couple. Thanks for stopping at my BLOG. See ya round!

  2. mouseinyourhouse August 26, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    I agree. Those little trade-in libraries are awesome! And I wish I could play guitar but I’ve tried and I don’t seem to have the patience unfortunately. Really enjoying your blog!! ;)

  3. Born To Organize August 27, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by, Mouse! We have a neighbor kitty that goes by the same name. It really confuses people, as you can imagine.

    I hope you are out of the path of the storm. It looks like you are somewhere in the southern states. Please stay safe and dry.

    • mouseinyourhouse August 29, 2012 at 7:32 am #

      Yes, everything has been fine. Was traveling to NY and they shut down the Eastern seaboard for a while, but other than a little inconvenience, didn’t hear of any accidents, etc. Thanks very much for checking in!!

      I ansolutely love that the neighborhood kitty is named Mouse. Hilarious! ;)

      • Born To Organize August 29, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

        Glad all is well.

        Yes, a cat called Mouse confuses a lot of people, but to know him is to love him. He manages to weave his way in to several of my blogs. Hard to imagine he’s not mine!

      • Born To Organize August 29, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

        Glad all is well.

        Yes, a cat called Mouse confuses a lot of people, but to know him is to love him. He manages to weave his way in to several of my blogs. Hard to imagine he’s not mine!

        Mouse is the third kitty down on the page if you are interested: http://gardeningnirvana.wordpress.com/2012/04/28/garden-kitties-make-the-rounds/

Leave a comment