A Tale of Two Ladies & One Lovely Craft Night

17 Nov

There’s nothing that gets my heart pitter pattering faster than a night out with some fun folks mixing fine wine with fine crafting. All over the world at any given moment, I like to think that groups of brilliant humans are gathering together right this very moment inspecting jars of glitter and pushing each other out of the way to claim that last bit of chevron ribbon. Women shoving other women over access to the sharpest scissors is some crazy fun stuff, dudes. Remember this post when I spilled wax all over the floor? Fail as I may, these lovely nights are always entertaining and I’ve learned to jump at the chance to get my name on the signup sheet.

So…when I got a LivingSocial discount offer in my inbox for a crafting night at a new incredibly rad local DIY shop, I called up the only person I know in town who might possibly pass out with delight at such a proposal faster than me. Ongeleigh is one of the most energetic and creative people I know so we got our little crafting booties on over to O.C. Buckels, which is only less than a year old and filled with Etsy-like homemade gear.

With eggnog, local Chattanooga whiskey and chocolate in a crockpot, we knew right away that it was time to pull out a glue gun…game on!

And yes, that’s me there fighting with the hole punch. I should have just behaved and had more wine. Behind Ongeleigh (after she got annoyed with my use of orange and white polkadot ribbon) in the top right corner is O.C. Buckels owner Lynda Buckels. Indeed, she is the originator of the popular Chatty Crafty market concept in Chattanooga, TN. She’s scored some supremo crafty points in the Chattanooga scene. Actually, she may own the crafty point system.

But back to business, Lynda had an awesome project in store for us. The concept involved creating a tree branch centerpiece with some very affordable materials, including a mason jar, corn kernals, scrap booking paper and branches. So simple, right? We also had at our finger tips piles upon piles of craft paper, ribbon and other odds and ends thanks to Lynda’s stockpile accumulated through years and years of dedicated crafting.

I’m trying something new here tonight and giving you all a visual of the materials to help duplicate this easy breasy DIY project brought to you by O.C. Buckels:

You like that craft paper, don’t you? Gosh, I know you so well. Grab it from Indian Bazzaar.

From here our night was nothing but good times ahead. It certainly did help that we were in the middle of Lynda’s store, which is chalk full of items created by herself and other local, talented Tennessee folks. From bowls of vintage designed magnets to bright tea towels with adorable designs and thoughtfuly styled homemade skirts and dresses, I couldn’t stop from scoping the place out. Even when I should have been concentrating on creating my rustic mason-jar-turned-center-piece creation.

Could you really blame me? Just try taking your eyes off all that eye candy, and by candy I do mean literally marshmallows and cookies and cheese (not a candy? I don’t think you’ve had this cheese).

Well, there we were just having a grand old time and I was reminded once again that people are way too laid back about their DIY projects. Right when I was putting the finishing touches on my glued paper cut-outs, a girl comes over and has the audacity to ASK for my Elmer’s glue. I give her the stinkeye of course. And I’m all saying with this one look, can you not give me another hour with the glue? That’s seriously too much to ask? And meanwhile, Ongeleigh is barking orders at the girl next to us to lay off the freakin branches already. Her jar is way too full and it’s like she’s never made a branch centerpiece before. And now all the good branches with the extra thin limbs are gone. 

Thank goodness we smiled real big, batted our eyelashes and acted real sweet when Lynda came around. Ongeleigh quickly unwound that orange and white polkadot ribbon she had around my neck and we once again looked like two normal girls with some home decor ideas just expoding from our sweet little heads.

On a less threatening note, I just might have my hands on a New York Times bestseller you may have heard of. Does Young House Love ring a bell? Yea, yea, I know you’re sick of me blabbing on and on about this bloggie pair. If so, you may want to skip the next post because I’m about to really go there. I have purchased their new book – Young House Love: 243 ways to paint, craft, update & show your home some love – and I am just about giddy with unabashed love. Just. You. Wait. The DIY ideas abound.

Leave a comment